Roasted Pear Crumble: Bon Appetit Edition

Now that it’s finally pumpkin carving, cider sipping, and sweater wearing season, I can’t stop cooking new fall recipes! In the October edition of Bon Appetit magazine, I came across this mouth watering roasted pear crumble recipe that was so delicious and easy to make that I became inspired to practice some ways to photograph food.

Below are the steps I took to make the recipe. It hardly needed any modifications, so what you see is what you get!

Roasted Pear Crumble 1

To start, cut the pears in half and core each half about an inch wide. Make sure not to scoop out too much of the fruit since this step only serves to hold some of the crumble.

Halved Pears

Roasted Pear Crumble 4

Drizzle the pear halves, cut side up, with olive oil and bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes until golden brown. Depending on how your oven distributes heat, I usually bake my dishes 25 degrees lower than what the recipe calls for because my oven tends to get hotter than other ovens and I want to make sure that the food doesn’t burn.

Cooking Tips: Halfway through the cooking time, rotate your dish so that the food cooks evenly throughout just in case parts of your oven get hotter than others.

Cored Pears 2

While the pears are baking, toss the almonds, sunflower seeds, pecans, and oats with the brown sugar and olive oil and spread onto a baking sheet. The recipe calls for plain shelled pumpkin seeds, but since the grocery store only had roasted and salted shelled pumpkin seeds, I rinsed them under water and patted them dry in order to get most of the salt off and they worked perfectly fine.

Crumble

Bake the topping in the lower part of your oven for 10-12 minutes until the nuts are toasted and the brown sugar has caramelized into a golden brown color. Make sure to stir the crumble every couple of minutes or so in order to ensure even cooking and so that the brown sugar doesn’t stick to the pan and burn. With my oven, I found that baking the mixture a little under 10 minutes gave the topping a perfect color.

Roasted Crumble

Once the crumble and the pears have finished baking, let them cool and begin preparation for the mascarpone spread and plating.

Roasted Pears

For the spread, all you have to do is combine 2 teaspoons or so of sugar with half of an 8 oz container of mascarpone cheese and combine until smooth. I found that you can use the mascarpone cheese just on its own if you prefer since it is already sweet, but if you would like a sweeter and creamier taste, just add more sugar!

Mascarpone 1

Mascarpone 2

Once all of the ingredients are ready to go, I usually like to assemble the parts on a plate as the magazine would show. I liked the way Bon Appetit used a dark brown plate to contrast against the white mascarpone spread, but since I don’t own any dark colored plates (yet), I thought it looked nice to use a simple white plate against a maroon colored placemat I found around the house. I think the color adds a nice touch for fall and really complements the color of the roasted pear.

Roasted Pear Crumble 2

After all my hard work as the photographer, I think I deserved my reward : )

Half-Eaten Pear

Mmmm delicious!

Finished Pear

~

For the full recipe and instructions, you can visit the Bon Appetit website by clicking here.

Cheers for fall and finding new recipes!

XO Lauren

Leave a Reply

