Shannon’s Style for Survival

During my visit down to southern California, I had the wonderful opportunity to feature one of my best friends Shannon Murphy (better known as Smurph) on my blog this week using her cool urban downtown LA pad as the backdrop for our shoots.

Whenever I am picking out an outfit to wear for myself or for someone else, it is amazing what can inspire me at the last minute to completely change the direction of the look that I had planned. With the options I had in her closet, I was having the hardest time finding a jacket to complete Shannon’s outfit and I knew that I wanted to stay away from the traditional leather. Once I saw her light blue jean jacket hanging over a chair I knew that it was the missing piece! So ladies, don’t ditch your vintage 90’s jean jacket just yet, this trend is making a comeback this spring.

IMG_2205_edited-2

Style Tips: When you have a pop of color that stands out in the top part of your look, such as in the lips of this graphic tee, I recommend pairing shoes that have the same hue as the color that stands out because that way, you create a cohesive top to bottom look that incorporates more color effortlessly.

IMG_2208_edited-2

IMG_2187_edited-1

This cool yet simple Rebecca Minkoff crossbody bag it the perfect neutral pairing for this look.

IMG_2218_edited-2

As I mentioned in my previous post, one of my favorite style tricks is to layer up statement necklaces. You can go as bold or as subtle as you like, but I recommend keeping the metal color consistent and the lengths of the necklaces proportionate.

IMG_2214_edited-1

IMG_2248_edited-1

How perfect are these shoes! Shannon picked them up at Forever 21, the place where we all know style steals are endless. The minimalist look is timeless and the dark cherry red will spice up any outfit. Hmm I wonder what little Skylar is thinking about today? : )

IMG_2250_edited-1

IMG_2294_edited-1

IMG_2275_edited-1

~

Top: Urban Outfitters

Skirt: Forever 21

Jean Jacket: Forever 21

Silver Leaf Necklace: H&M

Silver Bar Necklace: Urban Outfitters

Shoes: Forever 21

Purse: Rebecca Minkoff

~

Not only is Shannon one blonde bombshell fashionista, she is also a contributor to and supporter of rare cancer research, a topic that is near and dear to her heart after her father was  diagnosed with a rare form of brain cancer several years ago. She recently recruited and lead an indoor cycling team in Los Angeles through a national fundraising event called Cycle for Survival, where all proceeds are donated to the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. To see all that she has accomplished, visit her cycle for survival website here. Help Shannon continue to reach and exceed her goals, donations are still open until April 1st!

Thank you Shannon for being my beautiful model! You are one of the strongest people I know and are an inspiration to us all. Keep it up!

Shan Cycle for Survival

~

For more style tips and fashion finds, visit my other posts in the fashion category.

Cheers to best friends and spring trends!

XO Lauren

2 thoughts on “Shannon’s Style for Survival

Leave a Reply

